arrowskidsclub

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

The Twelve Days Of Christmas

on December 11, 2014

On the first day of Christmas, the twelve days of christmas

                                                                                            my true love sent to me…..”

The “Twelve Days of Christmas” was written during a period of time when Catholics were not able to practice their religion freely. The song (poem) was a way of teaching or reminding children their beliefs.

“On the first day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
A partridge in a pear tree.”

The True Love represents God and the love He has for us.

The “me” who is receiving all the 12 gifts represents the Christians.

The partridge in the pear tree represents Jesus (A partridge is willing to sacrifice its life to protect its young by feigning injury to draw away predators.)

“On the second day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The two turtle doves represent the Old and New Testaments

“On the third day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The three French hens represent faith, hope, and love.

“On the fourth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The four calling birds represent the four gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

“On the fifth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The five golden rings represent the first five books of the Old Testament.

“On the sixth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The six geese a-laying represent the six days of creation.

“On the seventh day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

Seven swans a-swimming represent the sevenfold gifts of the Holy Spirit—–Prophesy, Serving, Teaching, Exhortation, Contribution, Leadership, and Mercy.

“On the eighth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The eight maids a-milking represent the eight beatitudes.

“On the ninth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Nine ladies dancing,
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

Nine ladies dancing represent the nine fruits of the Holy Spirit (love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control)

“On the tenth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Ten lords a-leaping,
Nine ladies dancing,
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The ten lords a-leaping represent the Ten Commandments.

“On the eleventh day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Eleven pipers piping,
Ten lords a-leaping,
Nine ladies dancing,
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree.”

The eleven pipers piping represent the eleven faithful Apostles.

“On the twelfth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Twelve drummers drumming,
Eleven pipers piping,
Ten lords a-leaping,
Nine ladies dancing,
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree!”

The twelve drummers drumming represent the twelve points of belief in The Apostles’ Creed.

 

Leave a Reply

