arrowskidsclub

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

David

on June 30, 2015

david Memory Verse: Psalm 51:10

Bible Truth: While running your race keep your heart pure.

King Saul had disobeyed God on many occasions which caused God to reject him as Israel’s king. This made Samuel sad. One day God asked Samuel how long was he going to be sad over it. Then God told Samuel to fill a container with oil because He was going to send him to Bethlehem to anoint someone else to be Israel’s king. God had picked out someone from a man named Jesse’s family. Samuel was concerned because he thought that King Saul would kill him if he found out. So God told Samuel to go and do what He had instructed Him to do but to take some things for a sacrifice. Then he could tell people that he had come to sacrifice to God, instead of the real reason he was there.

1 Samuel 16:1-3 NKJV
“Now the Lord said to Samuel, “How long will you mourn for Saul, seeing I have rejected him from reigning over Israel? Fill your horn with oil, and go; I am sending you to Jesse the Bethlehemite. For I have provided Myself a king among his sons.” And Samuel said, “How can I go? If Saul hears it, he will kill me.” But the Lord said, “Take a heifer with you, and say, ‘I have come to sacrifice to the Lord.’Then invite Jesse to the sacrifice, and I will show you what you shall do; you shall anoint for Me the one I name to you.”

Samuel prepared the items that he needed and took them with him to Bethlehem. When the people in Bethlehem saw Samuel they were alarmed and asked him why he was there. Samuel told the people that he was there to sacrifice to the Lord, which was what God had instructed him to say. He invited the elders to come to the sacrifice and then he went and invited Jesse and his sons.

1 Samuel 16:4-5 NKJV

“So Samuel did what the Lord said, and went to Bethlehem. And the elders of the town trembled at his coming, and said, “Do you come peaceably?” And he said, “Peaceably; I have come to sacrifice to the Lord. Sanctify yourselves, and come with me to the sacrifice.” Then he consecrated Jesse and his sons, and invited them to the sacrifice.”

When Jesse’s family came, Samuel saw one of his sons named Eliab. Samuel thought to himself, “Surely he is the one!”

1 Samuel 16:6 NKJV

“So it was, when they came, that he looked at Eliab and said, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is before Him!”

However, God told Samuel not to look at the outward appearance. God had not chosen Eliab. Then He told Samuel that He did not look at the outside of a person – He looked at the heart of a person instead.

1 Samuel 16:7 NKJV

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

God was showing Samuel that how a person looks on the outside isn’t important. He shouldn’t be judged by his physical appearance. What really matters is a person’s heart attitude toward God.

Samuel was learning that God looks at what’s on the inside of a person and not at the outward appearance.

1 Samuel 16:8-10 NKJV

“So Jesse called Abinadab, and made him pass before Samuel. And he said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” Then Jesse made Shammah pass by. And he said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” Thus Jesse made seven of his sons pass before Samuel. And Samuel said to Jesse, “The Lord has not chosen these.”

One by one Jesse’s sons were shown to Samuel. Samuel looked at all seven of them and stated that God had not chosen any of them. Then he asked Jesse if that was all his sons – did he have any more?

Jessie told Samuel that he had one more son. He was the youngest son and he was out in the field taking care of the sheep. Samuel told Jesse to bring that son to him, and that they would not sit down to eat until he was there with them.

1 Samuel 16:11 NKJV

“And Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all the young men here?” Then he said, “There remains yet the youngest, and there he is, keeping the sheep.” And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and bring him. For we will not sit down till he comes here.”

So someone went out into the field and brought David, Jessie’s youngest son, to where Samuel and the others were. When Samuel say David, God instructed him to anoint him as the chosen king.

1 Samuel 16:12 NKJV

“So he sent and brought him in. Now he was ruddy, with bright eyes, and good-looking. And the Lord said, “Arise, anoint him; for this is the one!”

God had rejected all seven of David’s brothers and chosen David instead as the king. David was very young and to the natural eye and because of his appearance he would not have been the best choice, however God did not look at David’s outward appearance. He looked at David’s heart. In David’s heart God saw love and trust in God, a desire to please God, and a heart completely committed to God. David’s heart-attitude pleased God, and God was going to use him to lead His people.

1 Samuel 16:13 NKJV

“Then Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the midst of his brothers; and the Spirit of the Lord came upon David from that day forward. So Samuel arose and went to Ramah.”

Samuel took the oil that he had brought with him and he anointed David as the next king of Israel. After that Samuel went to Ramah and David returned to the field of sheep. For a period of time David continued to work in the fields taking care of the sheep while he awaited God’s time for him to become king.

Camp Challenge

God searches our hearts instead of looking at our appearances. Man looks at the outside of a person however, God looks at a person’s heart. What’s inside a persons heart is far more important and significant that their physical appearance or their natural abilities.

Psalm 7:9 NKJV

“For the righteous God tests the heart and minds.”

Everything that comes out of our mouth begins on the inside (innermost part) of us.

Matthew 12:33-37 NKJV

“Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or else make the tree bad and its fruit bad; for a tree is known by its fruit. Brood of vipers! How can you being evil, speak good things? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings firth evil things. But I say to you that for every idle word men speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

God knows everything in our hearts – every motive, desire, dream and word, even before we express it. God will search (test, examine) each person’s heart to see what is in it. He searches our hearts so that He can help us. Like David, we too should desire for God to examine our hearts (and our thoughts) and to purge us of sin so that we may have everlasting life.

Psalm 139:1-24 NKJV

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me.

You know my sitting down and my rising up;

You understand my thought afar off.

You comprehend my path and my lying down,

And are acquainted with all my ways.

For there is not a word on my tongue,

But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether.

You have hedged me behind and before,

And laid Your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;

It is high, I cannot attain it.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?

Or where can I flee from Your presence?

If I ascend into heaven, You are there;

If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.

If I take the wings of the morning,

And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,

Even there Your hand shall lead me,

And Your right hand shall hold me.

If I say,

‘Surely the darkness shall fall on me,’

Even the night shall be light about me;

Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,

But the night shines as the day;

The darkness and the light are both alike to You.

For You formed my inward parts;

You covered me in my mother’s womb.

I praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

Marvelous are Your works,

And that my soul knows very well.

My frame was not hidden from You,

When I was made in secret,

And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.

Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.

And in Your book they all were written,

The days fashioned for me,

When as yet there were none of them.

How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!

How great is the sum of them!

If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand;

When I awake, I am still with You.

Oh, that You would slay the wicked O God!

Depart from me, therefore you bloodthirsty me.

For they speak against You wickedly;

Your enemies take Your name in vain.

Do I not hate them, O Lord, who hate You?

And do I not loathe those who rise up against You?

I hate them with perfect hatred;

I count them my enemies.

Search me, O God, and know my heart;

Try me, and know my anxieties;

And see if there is any wicked way in me,

And lead me in the way everlasting.”

The Bible tells us that whatever is in the heart will come out of our mouths. It also tells us that each one of us will give an account for every idle (unfounded) word that we speak. That our words will either justify us or condemn us. God desires for us to ask Him to search our hearts. Not so that He can condemn us but to help us.

Psalm 51:10 NKJV

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

Prayer Points

Ask God to search your heart.

Ask God to help you not judge people by their outward appearance.

Ask God to help you be careful with the words you speak.

Ask God to reveal to you what’s in your heart.

Ask God to purge you of sin so that you may have everlasting life.

Ask God to create in you a clean heart.

Ask God to renew a steadfast spirit within you.

Leave a Reply

